set yourself up for success // 2018 GOALS

champagne-585154_1920

Hellllllo friends!

Man, I have been MIA since Christmas, eh? In 2017 I really began to embrace the power and value of cultivating inner peace (one of my 2018 goals!) which meant taking a step back from…well, everything in order to listen to myself. This has allowed me to take a mental stock of what is of value in my life, what I’m not interested in carrying any longer (I deleted about 200 contacts out of my phone, got rid of the Facebook app on my phone AND deleted a ton of Facebook friends. Plus I purged my IG.) where I want to go with this blog and what I want to communicate with my social media. The end of one year and beginning of the next can be such a powerful time of reflection if we give ourselves that space and fight the temptation to push content, statuses or otherwise misrepresent ourselves. In 2018 we can do better.

As with the last ten years or so I created a 2018 list of goals, centered in a verse that I’m believing will define my year.

“Do not be afraid! Take your stand [be firm and confident and undismayed] and see the salvation of the Lord which He will accomplish for you today…” Exodus 14:13

This year I will be firm, confident, undismayed and still. My personality tends towards activity over stillness-a constant state of doing something, working on something, moving towards something– and although I have no intentions of doing nothing this year, I’m going to reject the compulsion to run in place over sitting and meditating.

In 2018 we’re choosing doable and transformative personal goals and dismissing unrealistic expectations that we may have picked up along the way in our journey. My 2018 goals in their entirety are below. I like to break them into things to learn, to do and to embrace. Also on my list is to sit down and think and write on the life I see for myself, the husband, the children, the company, the friendships-a manifesto of sorts. It’s so easy to be bounced, pinball-like, throughout life from birth to deathbed by what we’re told we should do or ought to be. I’m not suggesting we shirk responsibility, I’m suggesting we take full responsibility for who we are and what we want. To begin, we have to start by asking the questions that matter.

Praying that this will be a transformative year of love, peace and strength in your life and in our world.

2018-01

xx,
Jasmine

2 thoughts on “set yourself up for success // 2018 GOALS

Leave a comment